21 July, 2019

Regional Centre



IGNOU Regional Centre, Patna was the first Regional centre for Bihar, which came into existence on May 4, 1991 with its jurisdiction over entire undivided state of Bihar. After the division of the state into Bihar and Jharkhand, another Regional centre was established at Ranchi in March 2000 for the districts located at Jharkhand. Subsequently, Out of 33 Study Centres, 13 Study Centres came under jurisdiction of Ranchi Regional Centre while 20 Study Centres remained associated with the Patna Regional Centre.

Further, on 4th April 2005, a Sub Regional Centre was established at Darbhanga, which was consequently upgraded to a full fledged Regional Centre on 6th December 2006. As a result, among 37 districts of Bihar, 17 districts were attached to RC Patna and remaining 20 districts to RC Darbhanga. Accordingly, Out of 59 study centers, 37 remained with Patna Regional Centre and remaining 22 study centres came under jurisdiction of Darbhanga Regional Centre.


Further, the third Regional Centre at Bhagalpur was segregated from Patna Regional Centre in October 2010, which has jurisdiction over three districts namely Bhagalpur, Banka and Munger, which include 3 study centres and one programme study centre.

Since its inception, Regional Centre - Patna has grown continuously in terms of enrolment, offer of programmes, and network of SCs/PSCs/SSCs despite of its division into three Regional Centres viz, Ranchi, Darbhanga and Bhagalpur over a span of twenty four years. The Regional centre-Patna, now operates over 17 Districts of Bihar viz. Aurangabad, Arwal, Bhojpur, Buxar, Gaya, Jamui, Jehanabad, Kaimur, Lakhisarai, Nalanda, Nawada, Patna, Rohtas, Saran, Sheikhpura, Siwan and Vaishali. At present, Regional Centre - Patna has a network of 39 Study Centres which comprises of 20 Regular Study Centres, 15 Programme Study Centres and 4 Special Study Centres.